Recent Eats 9/5/14

Three meals a day plus snacks times seven days a week…

One full time job plus a billion other life responsibilities…

I often tell my husband I wish I had more time to cook and eat and write.  (I would eat all day if I could.)   But I don’t have that luxury.  (And of course that would be unhealthy.)

So I thought I’d compile a photo list of some things I’ve eaten recently but have not had an opportunity to write about.  Hope you enjoy!

Yellow Watermelon

Yellow Watermelon

This adorable little watermelon came from Farmshare Austin.  My coworker’s husband is involved with the non-profit and she brought some to the office to share.  This piece of fruit was smaller than a football and had an awesome yellow flesh.  Cute and tasty.

Peanut Butter Smores Bars 2

Peanut Butter S’mores Bars.  Yum.  A different coworker of mine gave me these beauties because she is aware of my obsession with s’mores.  Praise God for coworkers.  I’m not sure which recipe she used exactly but this one could be it.  These were good.  The peanut butter stood out to me more than the s’mores.  Not complaining.  Just saying.

Squash and Chickpea Salad

Summer Squash and White Bean Saute from Eating Well.  This was better than I expected it to be.  I omitted the onion as I usually do because my husband does not eat them.  I used a dried Italian seasoning mix instead of oregano, added fresh parsley and used chickpeas instead of white beans.

Triple Chocolate Pizookie

I guess you could say I’m a glutton for punishment.  A mere four weeks after the Peanut Butter S’mores Pizookie we returned to BJ’s Restaurant and Brewhouse for more.  This one was my husband’s pick because it was another one of his birthday desserts.  I didn’t argue with his choice: Triple Chocolate.  Oh so good.  We were both disappointed in the mini size.  Rather than satisfied it leaves you wanting more but as you well remember the regular Pizookie is too large for comfort so I guess we should count our blessings.  A free yummy dessert sans intestinal distress.

Carnitas Fries with Chile Verde

This is proof that my husband actually will eat onions as long as the meal seems worth it.  Carnitas Fries with Chile Verde from BJ’s: shoe-string fries, pulled pork, cilantro, onions, chile verde and lots and lots of cheese.  There was a whole layer of cheese on the bottom of the pan.  Insane.

Happy eating!

 

Leave a Reply

